Between Dec. 4, 1951, and June 12, 1952, the Federal Government entered into agreements with all the provinces, except Quebec and Newfoundland, based generally on the above provisions.

Federal Forestry Branch.—The chief functions of the Forestry Branch of the Department of Resources and Development are to provide information and assistance, in forestry matters of national importance, to the provincial authorities, who administer the publicly owned forests lying within provincial boundaries, and to the industries who depend on the forests for their raw materials. The Branch conducts research in forestry and in the utilization of forest products and provides financial help to the provinces in connection with the activities mentioned above.

The Forestry Branch organization comprises three Divisions concerned with Forest Research, Forest Products Laboratories and Forest Operations. A special Section concerned with Forest [Economics constitutes a part of the Branch administration.

District Offices are maintained at St. John's, N'f'ld.; Fredericton, N.B.; Valcartier, Que.; Winnipeg, Man.; and Calgary, Alta. A special research unit at the headquarters at Ottawa serves as a district office for Ontario so far as forest research work is concerned. Forest Experiment Stations are located at Acadia near Fredericton, N.B.; Valcartier, Que.; Petawawa, Ont.; Riding Mountain National Park, Man.; and Kananaskis, Alta. Forest Products Laboratories are located at Ottawa and Vancouver.

The Forest Operations Division is concerned primarily with the administration of federal-provincial forestry agreements under the Canada Forestry Act. The duties involved include examination of programs for forest inventory and reforestation which are submitted annually by the provinces as a basis for federal participation in costs, and examination of work carried out in accordance with these programs prior to payment by the Federal Government under the terms of the agreements. A co-operative agreement between the Governments of Canada and New Brunswick, under which the Federal Government is paying one-third of the cost of an aerial spraying operation against the spruce budworm in northern New Brunswick, is also administered by the Forest Operations Division.

The work of the Forest Research Division and Forest Products Laboratories Division is described in Section 3, pp. 468-469.

Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board.—This joint Board, supported by the Federal and Alberta Governments, is responsible for protecting the eastern slopes of the Rocky Mountains. Federal participation in this project is based on the fact that the Saskatchewan River has its headwaters in the Rocky Mountains and flows through the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Manitoba, as well as Alberta.

Federal funds have been provided to finance construction of roads and other improvements needed in the protection program, but forestry operations in the area are carried out by the staff of the Alberta Department of Lands and Forests.

Department of Agriculture.—Investigation of outbreaks of injurious forest insects and of tree diseases are carried on by the Forest Biology Division, Science Service, Federal Department of Agriculture, because these lines of work are closely allied with the larger fields of general entomology and plant pathology. This work is done in close co-operation with the federal and provincial forest services. The